1936 Supplement

To Mason's Minnesota Statutes 1927

(1927 to 1936) (Superseding Mason's 1931 and 1934 Supplements)

Containing the text of the acts of the 1929, 1931, 1933 and 1935 General Sessions, and the 1933-34 and 1935-36 Special Sessions of the Legislature, both new and amendatory, and notes showing repeals, together with annotations from the various courts, state and federal, and the opinions of the Attorney General, construing the constitution, statutes, charters and court rules of Minnesota together with digest of all common law decisions.



Edited by

WILLIAM H. MASON, Editor-in-Chief W. H. MASON, JR. R. O. MASON J. S. O'BRIEN Assistant Editors

> MASON PUBLISHING CO. SAINT PAUL, MINNESOTA 1936

22.1. Congressional districts.—The State of Minnesota is hereby divided into nine congressional districts, each of which is entitled to elect one representative to the Congress of the United States. (Act Apr. 8, 1933, c. 185, §1.)

22-2. First district.—The Counties of Rice, Goodhue, Waseca, Steele, Dodge, Wabasha, OImsted, Winona, Freeborn, Mower, Fillmore and Houston shall constitute the First Congressional District. (Act Apr. 8, 1933, c. 185, §2.)

22-3. Second district.—The Counties of McLeod, Carver, Sibley, Scott, Dakota, Nicollet, LeSueur, Brown, Cottonwood, Watonwan, Blue Earth, Jackson, Martin and Faribault shall constitute the Second Congressional District. (Act Apr. 8, 1933, c. 185, §3.)

22-4. Third district.—The Counties of Anoka, Chisago. Isanti, Washington, and all of Hennepin County outside of the City of Minneapolis, and the First, Second, Third, Ninth and Tenth Wards of the City of Minneapolis, and the First, Second, Sixth, Seventh, Eighth, Ninth, Tenth, Eleventh and Twelfth Precincts of the Fourth Ward of the City of Minneapolis shall constitute the Third Congressional District. (Act Apr. 8, 1933, c. 185, §4.)

22-5. Fourth district.—The County of Ramsey shall constitute the Fourth Congressional District. (Act Apr. 8, 1933, c. 185, §5.)

22-6. Fifth district.—The Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, Eighth, Eleventh, Twelfth and Thirteenth Wards of the City of Minneapolis and all of the Fourth Ward of the City of Minneapolis except precincts numbered 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 shall constitute the Fifth Congressional District. (Act Apr. 8, 1933, c 185, $\S6.$) 22-7. Sixth district.—The Counties of Hubbard, Cass, Wadena, Crow Wing, Aitkin, Todd, Morrison, Mille Lacs, Kanabec, Pine, Stearns, Benton, Sherburne, Meeker and Wright shall consitute the Sixth Congressional District. (Act Apr. 8, 1933, c. 185, §7.)

22-8. Seventh district.—The Counties of Traverse, Grant; Douglas, Big Stone, Stevens, Pope, Swift, Lac qui Parle, Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Yellow Medicine, Renville, Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood, Pipestone, Murray, Rock and Nobles shall constitute the Seventh Congressional District. (Act Apr. 8, 1933, c. 185, §8.)

22-9. Eighth district.—The Counties of Koochiching, Itasca, St. Louis, Lake, Cook and Carlton shall constitute the Eighth Congressional District. (Act Apr. 8, 1933, c. 185, §9.)

22-10. Ninth district.—The Counties of Kittson, Roseau, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Beltrami, Pennington, Red Lake, Polk, Clearwater, Norman, Mahnomen, Clay, Becker, Wilkin, and Otter Tail shall constitute the Ninth Congressional District. (Act Apr. 8, 1933, c. 185, §10.)

22-11. Inconsistent acts repealed.—All Acts and and parts of Acts inconsistent herewith are hereby repealed. (Act Apr. 8, 1933, c. 185, §11.)

Sec. 12 provides that the act shall take effect from its passage.

passage. Abolishment of 10 congressional districts also abolished office held by member of board of managers of state agricultural society, and office of one elected for certain district became vacant where place of his residence became part of another district which is represented by another manager. Op. Atty. Gen., May 25, 1933.

23. [Superseded.]

This section is taken from Laws 1913, c. 513, \$11. It was amended by Laws 1929, c. 64, \$2. Superseded by Act Apr. 8, 1933, c. 185, ante \$22-1 to 22-11

CHAPTER 21/2

Capitol Buildings and Grounds

23-1. Central mailing station established in Capitol. —Upon the erection of a state office building the Commission of Administration and Finance shall cause to be established a central mailing station in the State Capitol, or in such office building, under the direct supervision of the custodian of State Capitol buildings. (Act Apr. 24, 1929, c. 350, §1.)

23-2. Mail to be delivered unstamped.—All official mail of any state department or other state agency occupying quarters either in the State Capitol, or in adjoining state buildings, shall be delivered unstamped to the central mailing station. Account shall be kept of the postage required on such mail, which shall be a proper charge against the department or agency delivering such mail. (Act Apr. 24, 1929, c. 350, §2.)

23-3. Custodian to make use of labor saving devices.—In the handling of mail at the central mailing station the custodian shall make use of labor saving devices and machines when it is found economical to do so. (Act Apr. 24, 1929, c. 350, $\S3$.)

do so. (Act Apr. 24, 1929, c. 350, §3.) Custodian cannot make purchases because of absence of appropriation. Op. Atty. Gen., Aug. 1, 1933.

23-4. Department to advance money for expenses. —To provide funds for the payment of postage each department or agency shall make advance payments from time to time to the custodian sufficient to cover its postage obligations for at least thirty days. (Act Apr. 24, 1929, c. 350, §4.)

Custodian may not charge departments percentage as handling charge. Op. Atty. Gen., Aug. 1, 1933.

23-5. Billboards prohibited adjacent to Capitol.— No advertising billboards shall be erected or maintained on any lands adjoining the state capitol grounds, or within the distance of one-eighth of a mile from the center of the capitol building, except it be a billboard advertising a business conducted on the premises on which it is erected or maintained. (Act Apr. 26, 1929, c. 389, §1.)

23-6 Same; penalty.—Any person who shall violate the provisions of this act shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. (Act Apr. 26, 1929, c. 389, §2.)

23-7. Appropriation for state owned telephone system.—There is hereby appropriated out of all monies not otherwise appropriated from the State Treasury the sum of \$47,000 for the purpose of acquiring and installing a state-owned automatic telephone system to serve the State Capitol, Administration and Historical Society buildings, said monies to be dispensed under the supervision of the Department of Administration and Finance. (Act Apr. 21, 1933, c. 338.) Laws 1929, c. 401, authorizes St. Paul Camp No. 1, Sons of Veterans, to erect statue of Abraham Lincoln on capitol grounds.